Students sweep media law research prizes

UNC School of Journalism and Mass Communication graduate students have won the first, second and third-place top-student-paper awards for media law research they will present at the annual convention of the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication in August.

Also winning prizes in the AEJMC Law and Policy Division are two recent graduates of the J-School’s Ph.D. program.

First-place student paper and winner of the Whitney and Shirley Mundt Top Student Paper Award: Master’s student Jeanne-Marie DeStefano for her paper “An Analysis of FTC Cases Involving Substantiation of Health Claims in Food Advertising”

Second-place student paper: Doctoral student Lisa Barnard for her paper titled “Tracking, Technology and Tweens: Better Regulation to Protect Children’s Privacy Online”

Third-place student paper: Master’s student John Remensperger for his paper titled “Who are the Media? The Media Exemption to Campaign Finance Laws”

Recent graduate Dr. Dean Smith won second-place faculty paper for his paper titled “The Real Story Behind the Nation’s First Shield Law: Maryland 1894-1897.” Smith will join the faculty at N.C. State University in the fall.

Recent graduate Dr. Woody Hartzog had a paper accepted titled “The Life, Death, and Revival of Implied Confidentiality.” Hartzog is on the faculty at the Cumberland School of Law at Samford University in Alabama.

For acceptance, all papers were double blind-reviewed by judges with no distinction made between student and faculty papers. This means students competed with all submitted papers for acceptance including faculty-authored papers. Once accepted, student-authored papers were identified and selected for top-student-paper awards.


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply